Ógras History

In 1969 Conradh na Gaeilge made a decision that there was a need to provide services to the young people of the country through Irish. This decision was made on the basis of research that was carried out a few years previously. Ógras was founded in November 1969. Tomás Ó hEochaidh was employed as Ógras's youth officer to carry out the organisation's work - establishing clubs, organising events, developing a constitution for the new organisation, etc., and this went very well. National events were organised around the country: The Ógras Olympics, an assembly at Oireachtas na Gaeilge, Debates, Summer Camps and even a few international events as the years went by. Tomás ensured that Ógras was part of Comhairle Náisiúnta na nÓg - the umbrella group for youth organisations in the country. At one point a group of representatives from Ireland, about five of which were from Ógras, attended the International Youth Festival in Moscow, Russia, and Tomás was the one overlooking the group. According to the stories that have been passed down, they had a brilliant time.

Óg-Ógras History

Óg-Ógras was established in 1988, for children 8-13 years of age. Official recognition was given to Óg-Ógras in 1988 when they received a grant from the Dept. of Education for the first time, to appoint an Óg-Ógras officer. There followed a period of growth and development for clubs in this age group, and many new clubs were established in areas where Ógras clubs were already flourishing, as well as areas where there had previously not been an Ógras club of any kind before. A program of events is set out for Óg-Ógras each year, as is the case for Ógras. Day trips are organised in each province before Christmas and around March each year. In some areas, clubs also organise a sports day, that is organised along the lines of Cluichí Tailteann Ógras , except the kids do not spend the night away from home. A large number of Óg-Ógras members stay in the organisation and progress to Ógras Clubs when they reach that age. 

Ógras Chairpersons

1971 - '73   Seán Mac Mathúna

1973 - '75   Mairéad Bn. Uí Dhomhnaill
1975 - '77   Mícheál Mac Gréil, S.J.
1977 - '78   Niall Ó Muilleoir
1978 - '79   Seán de Paor
1979 - '80   Ciarán Ó Feinneadha
1980 - '81   Seán de Paor
1981 - '83   Pádraig Ó Duibhir
1983 - '85   Deaglán de Paor


1985 - '88   Pádraig Ó Sabhain

1988 - '89   Antóin Mac Cárthaigh
1989 - '90   Fiona de Staic
1990 - '92   Seán Óg Ó Coisdealbha
1992 - '94   Aodhán Ó Meachair
1994 - '97   Pádraig de Burca
1997 - 2005   Máirín Uí Ghríofa
2005 - Present   Breandán Ó Cathasaigh


6 Harcourt Street

Dublin 2

D02 VH98


01 475 1487

Registered Charity Number 

20204025 - CHY 22409

Limited Company Without Share Capital #638154

© 2014 cruthaithe ag

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now